Schiit Ragnarok Amplifier
May 8, 2024 at 4:19 PM Post #2,011 of 2,024
My Rag 2 just came in today and I'm liking it a lot so far. But have a question for anyone else with one. I hear a noticeable hissing on medium gain with the volume knob past 3:00 and on high gain past 12:00. Maybe I'm just using too sensitive headphones (HD 660s)? These volumes are wayyy to high for normal listening with these headphones anyways just curious if this is normal.
The only time I've ever heard any noise or hiss is when I used very sensitive IEMs (lol).

When you unplug your source, is it still hissing?

May 8, 2024 at 6:05 PM Post #2,012 of 2,024
I have zero audible background noise on any gain / volume setting in SE mode as well.

May 9, 2024 at 12:43 AM Post #2,013 of 2,024
Thanks for the replies y’all. I sat down with the amp earlier and investigated and here’s what I’ve figured out:
  • Unplugging the source or changing the input to one that isn’t in use has no effect on the static noise I’m hearing
  • It’s only audible on medium/high gain. On medium it’s very quiet but still apparent at normal listening volume. At 3:00 it starts to get louder. On high it’s extremely apparent at any volume.
  • Adjusting the volume past 3:00 on medium/high gain makes a “sizzling” sound in the headphones. Almost like I’m hearing the relays clicking in the audio. It’s hard to explain but extremely noticeable on some headphones and not as noticeable on others…
From what everyone is saying it sounds like there might be an issue with my unit. Should I contact Schiit? For reference like I mentioned earlier I first heard it with my 660s but I also tried it with my Argons which are allegedly harder to drive and it was still very noticeable with those as well - even on the balanced output…

May 9, 2024 at 6:28 PM Post #2,015 of 2,024
It sounds like the amp need checking, thats to bad, fortunately Schiit have very good customer service. Have you tried another wall socket on a different line?