As a new member, this is what I've found helpful about Head Fi
Apr 29, 2024 at 1:19 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

Grom781

New Head-Fier
A few months ago I was looking to buy my first set of iems. Overwhelmed with the sheer volume of information and mixed opinions I found online it wasnt until I discovered Head Fi that I was able to piece together and understand what I should be looking for.
What I learned from reading countless Head Fi reviews and reading through the forums...
(I welcome any feedback pointing out something I've misunderstood. Im still quite new to this world)
- instead of buying one $150 or $300 iem straight off the bat, instead buy a handful of budget iems with vastly different sound signatures and figure out what you like first
- a small DAC AMP can really boost the level of enjoyment for the sound produced (even for budget iems) and especially if you're like me and usually listen to music from your iphone.
- everyone has different fitment needs and everyone has different preferences for different sound signatures. so just because someone likes an iem that I may not. this doesn't mean in any way that they're wrong. what sounds good to me may not be the same for everyone and vice versa.
- never take any single person as gospel, read a lot of reviews and forum posts before deciding on a new set for yourself. but remember everything is a gamble, and its all about testing out different sounds until you eventually find what you like.
- eartips can make all the difference. I personally love S&S Dunu tips, but I give iem's away to my family and friends for ones that personally have bought but dont see myself using regularly. each person will have a different favourite and its good to try a few different ear tips. along with S&S Dunu I also quite like Sedna Earfit Xlastics and Moondrop Springtips. (there are still lots more I have my eye on to try out)